basic help

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Gregory Farley, Jun 4, 2016.

1. Gregory Farley

Gregory Farley Cyanogen Customer

I am running a demo version, that is supposed to be a full edition. I have been using Images Plus for 2 years. I am planning upgrading to a QSI camera from a DSLR next week. I wanted to understand the program beforehand. I am using LRBG images from a different source and I can not get them to stack. I follow the tutorial and if I end up with a Group image (10% of the time) it is not in color. So, why do I not end up with a final image? I always have errors, but no images are red "x". The PinPoint Astrometry window opens, not sure what to do with that? Why are my images not in color, just monochrome? Is the Tutorial missing steps?

2. Colin Haig

Colin Haig Cyanogen Customer

For the community to help, it would be good to have a bit of info, and maybe one of us can explain a couple of things.
    It would be good to know what errors you are encountering.

It might help to upload your sample images (see the Upload a File) button next to Post Reply.
    What are the source images? What kind of camera, filter, and optics. What's in the field?
    e.g. 4 monochrome CCD image taken with each of L, R, G, B, filters, exposure length X, darks, flats, bias frames.
    Or were these DSLR images filtered?
    Are they FITS format? Or CR2 or ???
    Is it a star field, planet, nebula, galaxy you are working on?
    Are the coordinates embedded in the FITS header?

Are you using Combine Color to take the LRGB FIT files and convert them to one color image? That might be what you want to do.