compatible filters, guider and spectroscope

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by Elham Ziaali, Aug 11, 2019.

1. Elham Ziaali

Elham Ziaali Standard User

Dear Sir/Madam,

This is Elham Ziaali, a PhD candidate in astrophysics in Research Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics of Maragha (RIAAM) in Iran. I plan to equip an observatory to start photometry and spectroscopy of variable stars specially pulsating stars and Delta Scuti stars there. We have a 11 inches Schmidt-Cassegrain Telescope (from Celestron company) and we need a new CCD camera, proper filters, a focal reducer and a guider which will be another CCD camera with smaller pixel size which locate at the finder-scope. I visited your website and I selected STX-16803 CCD with FW7-STX filter wheel to do photometry. Since I am not very experienced, please let me know is it a suitable model for our goal with this kind of telescope? and what kind of filters will match with this CCD model and this filter wheel?

I would appreciate that if I could ask you about the model of guider you suggest me?
    In case of spectroscopy, could you please suggest me the spectroscope models I can use with this telescope and STX-16803STX-16803 CCD?
    Yours Sincerely,
    Elham Ziaali

2. Colin Haig

Colin Haig Staff Member

The STX-16803 has a very large image sensor, compared to the what is available in an 11-inch SCT. It is likely too large for that telescope. Only the centre of the field would be properly illuminated.
    Is this a C-11 or a C-11 EDGE HD ?
    I would recommend the Aluma-U3200. It has 6.8um pixels, which are an ideal match for that telescope if you have excellent seeing conditions (0.5 arcsecond), and it supports a Remote Guide Head or a Self-Guiding Filter Wheel.
    http://diffractionlimited.com/product/aluma-3200/