Connecting to camera

Discussion in 'Demo User Tech Support' started by James Bartling, Sep 27, 2017.

  1. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    All - I have a Nikon D7100 connected via USB to my macbook pro. I am running Windows 10 under Parallels 13. When I try to connect to my D7100 I get the message

    Error opening camera 1
    Nikon plug-in could not connect to camera
    Could not initialize module
    Error selecting source

    Suggestions?
     
  2. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,440
    Can you control the camera with a Nikon Camera Control utility successfully, outside of MaxIm ?
    e.g. does the Nikon Mac version work, outside of Parallels? Then does the Nikon Windows one work inside Parallels?
     
  3. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I do not have nikon camera control installed but I can download and try if you want me to
     
  4. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I was able to open a picture on my camera from windowsm10
     
  5. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,440
    The idea here is to start at the bottom and work up, starting at making sure that the hardware is talking to the operating system, and then work our way along from there.
    It will help eliminate problems, in a stepwise fashion.
    e.g. Can your Mac see the Camera in the list of devices (system report)?
    If yes, then can your Mac control the camera with the Mac versoin of the Nikon control utility?
    If yes, then fire up parallels.
    Does Windows see it in the Windows Device Manager?
    If yes, then can you control it with the Windows Nikon utility?
    If you get all the way there, then try MaxIm.
     
  6. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    New message
    error loading module c:\Program Filesn (x86)\Common Files\Nikon\Comera Control Modules\Type0010.md3

    And I do not have Nikon directory
     
  7. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I do see NIKON D7100 in the list of devices as a USB device
    I can download pictures to a windows 10 picture viewer.
    I do not have the files c:\Program Filesn (x86)\Common Files\Nikon\Comera Control Modules\Type0010.md3
     
  8. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I have installed camera control in windows 10 and can control the camera from the computer
     
  9. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Still not from maxim
     
  10. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,440
    Can you screen shot the error?
     
  11. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I am back at work now but yes when I get home. It is 1:24 local here now I will be home in an hour to 1.5hours
     
  12. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    I am home from work
     
  13. James Bartling

    James Bartling Standard User

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2017
    Messages:
    10
    Could not get maxim DL talking to camera in windoes 10 running under parallels. Loaded windows 10 using boot camp and now appears to be working
     

Share This Page