Resolved Message "Error opening filter wheel"

Discussion in 'Filter Wheels' started by Debeauxairs, Mar 12, 2019.

  1. Debeauxairs

    Debeauxairs Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Dear All.

    I have not used my SBIG STL 11000m for a while and now, when I try to connect it, I have the following error message:
    Error opening filter wheel
    Error (1710520672) initializing filter wheel.


    When I specify "no filter" in the "setup filter", the camera connects normally.

    Dring the connection, the filter wheel rotates as if a certain internal initialization is done.

    Can someone help me? Thank you.

    Philip
     
  2. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,761
    What operating system, software and version are you using? e.g. Windows 10 64bit, MaxIm 6.20
    Do you have the latest SBIG driver checker?
    If MaxIm, did you set the camera settings as:
    SBIG Universal for both the Camera and the Filter Wheel?
     
  3. Debeauxairs

    Debeauxairs Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Dear Colin

    Thank you for the quick reaction. I am using Windows 7 pro and MaxIm 6.20. I think I have the latest SBIG driver checker, but I have to check; at least it tells me that all my drivers are the latest versions. I chose the settings "SBIG Universal" for the Camera and the "SBIG Standard" for the filter wheel.
     
  4. Debeauxairs

    Debeauxairs Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    I forgot to say that it is 64bit
     
  5. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,761
    It should be set like this:
    filter.png
    Let me know if that works.
    Otherwise, i will dust off my old STL11000M and try it myself.
     
  6. Bill

    Bill SBIG Service and Repairs Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    342
    I think the rotation with 'no filter' selected is normal, or maybe better put, not abnormal. When power is applied and the camera is initializing, it isn't necessarily aware of the software settings (the camera is loading the drivers from the computer at this time) so it will spin until it settles at "home". Then with 'no filter' selected in the settings, the camera doesn't try to initialize any FW, as it has been told that there is none, and your connection has completed normally.

    If a filter wheel is selected in the settings, the camera will try to initialize that filter wheel as part of the link being established. And for an undetermined reason, at this point anyhow, you're getting an error message because that initialization is not being completed. So, is FW5-STL (in CCDOps) selected in the Filter Setup? When the wheel stops spinning, is it centered? Do you have a way of testing the I2C connection of the camera? An AO perhaps?

    -Bill
     
  7. Debeauxairs

    Debeauxairs Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Dear Colin and Bill.

    It works! Thank you a lot for your inputs! A few words about what I did and what I think where my errors:
    - I probably did an error in trying the driver update procedure via the Driver Checker...
    - To be sure to have the laste driver version, I uninstalled and reinstalled the camera driver using the Driver Checker. It installed the 4.99 version, I had the 4.8 if I rememer well.
    - I didn't check the "Dual Chip Mode" after having removed my remote camera.

    Well, the operator (me) is much less reliable than the SBIG material :))

    Thank you again and best regards from Switzerland!

    Philip
     
  8. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,761
    Ok have fun with your camera!
     

Share This Page