My focal plane is inclined, please tell me how to fix it? Thank you!

Discussion in 'Legacy Models - Community Support' started by Yang, Oct 25, 2014.

1. Yang

Yang Standard User

Hi everyone,

I'm from Shanghai, China, I'm an amateur astronomical observer. Early this year, I purchased a used STT-8300 from the United States, because I believe that the SBIG product is the best, so I excitedly began shooting. Soon, I found that photos cannot be entirely clear, so I started to adjust the various components of the telescope. I let the telescope Depot overhaul and re-customize the extended barrel, but not solve the problem. The CCDInspector software analyzes photos flatness as the following diagram:
    01.png

I also customized the focal plane adjustment ring. I found that the focal plane adjustment ring need a very substantial adjustment can restore the photo to normal, please look at the following picture:
    02.png

I also connected through a telescope CAA rotating the extended barrel and STT-8300 to different rotation angles, and took photos, I found that the situation did not change, indicating that the optical axis of the telescope's probably no problem. You can download the photos taken in different rotation angles from: http://pan.baidu.com/s/1hq471C4 , in "STT-8300" directory.

So, I increasingly suspect that STT-8300 itself.

Last night, I connected a DSLR camera(Nikon D70S) in the back of the telescope, found the flatness of the pictures is basically acceptable, just like this:
    03.jpg
    I basically can determine STT-8300 CCD chip inclined. I have never opened the camera, it may be due to the negligence of production, or the seller may be improperly adjusted.