New STT-8300 Image Defect Problems Continue - amp glow?

Discussion in 'Legacy Models - Community Support' started by Dean J., Apr 3, 2016.

1. Dean J.

Dean J. Standard User

In a recent thread I had posted images showing a noticeable "glow" in the upper left corner of my images from a new STT-8300 camera - purchased in December 2015.

The camera was returned to SBIG Repair last month for cleaning of the CCD chamber. I sent along a USB drive with some examples of the defect and Bill thought he was able to track down the problem.

Well, after having the camera out for this weekend I was discouraged to see that I am still getting a significant "glow" in the upper left corner of my images. I haven't posted any exemplars this time as they are the same as other images previously posted.

I have been using SBIG cameras since 1998 and I have never seen anything like this before.

The "glow" makes the subframes unusable.

I am disappointed [understatement] that after spending $5900+tax on a camera/filter wheel/filter package in December 2015 that I can't get defect free images from this camera.

I would like to swap this camera out for a camera that doesn't produce defective images.

Dean J.

2. Colin Haig

Colin Haig Staff Member

Can you upload a sample image FITS with the "glow" ? Does it happen with dark frames and the camera covered (bench test)?

3. Dean J.

Dean J. Standard User

Hi Colin, you can see the defect in several images I have posted with my other recent thread - STT-8300 - Possible Amp Glow Problem \.

The board won't let me upload a FITS file because of the file size.