Photometry tool crashes

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by Howard Trottier, May 10, 2016.

1. Howard Trottier

Howard Trottier Cyanogen Customer

Hi:

I've been trying to use the Photometry tool in Maxim DL Pro 6 to analyze a star cluster with several hundred stars (not a time series, but just one integrated image in each colour channel). However, when I reach about 100 objects tagged, the program always crashes - I've tried this at least a dozen times, and on two different computers. Is there an upper limit to the number of stars that the program can handle?

Many thanks for any help in this matter.

Howard.

2. Owen Lawrence

Owen Lawrence Staff Member

Hi Howard,

Sorry for the delay responding.

1. What version of MaxIm DL are you using? There have been a few fixes relating to Photometry in the more recent versions. Select Help | Check for updates...

I did a quick browse, and it does look like there's a hard-coded limit of 127 objects. (I'm not an expert on this tool, so it's possible I'm misinterpretting what I see. One guy here says there's no theoretical limit, but that's only for one narrow domain.) I did not get it to crash when I tried using the tool, so if you could help me with more input perhaps I can find and explanation.

2. Please send me a zip archive of your Documents\MaxIm DL 6\Settings folder.

3. As well, please outline in detail the procedure you followed to run into this problem. How many images loaded, mouse clicks in dialogs, menu selections, etc. Give as much detail as you can stand.

With your settings and procedure in place, hopefully I can reproduce the problem and fix it.

Thanks.

- Owen -

3. Howard Trottier

Hi Owen:

Thanks for your reply.

I have version 6.12 installed - and this was confirmed as the most recent version when I checked for an update.