Questions regarding,SBIG SG-4 stand alone autoguider

Discussion in 'Legacy Models - Community Support' started by firas, Jan 14, 2016.

1. firas

firas Standard User

Hi all,
    I just purchased the SG-4 auto guider and I need to know some basic stuff about it.

First, is it somehow possible to run the camera on a mac OS X? If not and I installed the drivers and TheSky program on a PC, will I be able to use it with the PHD 2 guiding program on a mac? Is it compatible with PHD2 at all? (I know that it is ment to be operated with out a computer but I like to use my computer anyways)

What is the port 2C is for?

Can I preform drift alignment with it ?

and now a final but probably not so smart question but i am new to this. Can the camera be used for imaging beside guiding?

Thanks in advance. I searched the net and there aren't so many info about it. I appreciate any feed back.

Clear skies

/Firas

2. Doug

Doug Staff Member

SG-4 is a standalone autoguider. You can't use a PC to guide with it. You can use a PC to help set up focus, and from then on the SG-4 does everything by itself.

If you want a computer-controlled autoguider, then you really want an ST-I.

3. firas

firas Standard User

Oh I see, when i read the menu it says that it is possible to control it remotely. What does that mean in this case? So basically i wouldn't be able to use it with phd right?
    Thanks for the answer Doug.

4. Doug

Doug Staff Member

You can control it remotely, but the SG-4 actually does the guiding. You can't use PhD with it.

5. firas

firas Standard User