SBIG Linux drivers

Discussion in 'Scripting and Programming' started by Jasem Mutlaq, Dec 6, 2015.

1. Jasem Mutlaq

Jasem Mutlaq Standard User

While SBIG Linux drivers are overall working OK, there are some issues when it comes to arm-based single board computers such as Raspberry PI. I don't believe SBIG has a current Linux driver maintainer, and I would like to volunteer my time to maintain & test SBIG Linux drivers to ensure they all work as expected. I have over 10 years experience in Linux and hardware drivers development, and currently maintain the INDI SBIG driver.

Another issue is that the software page does not include at all any section for Linux. A simple section can be added with the following information:

INDI (Instrument Neutral Distributed Interface)

INDI is a cross-platform system designed for automation and control of astronomical instruments. INDI drivers are available for SBIG CCD cameras & filter wheels. INDI supports autoguiding and runs on multiple clients on Linux, OSX, and Android. Read more about INDI and download the latest version directly from the INDI web site>>

2. Doug

Doug Staff Member

I've reorganized the page slightly so the link to the developers kit includes a reference to Linux.

3. Jasem Mutlaq

Jasem Mutlaq Standard User

Great thanks! But the INDI Linux driver (based on SBIG Universal driver) is not listed there. You have a "Windows Users" section followed by a "Macintosh OS X Users", can we have a "Linux Users" section as well?

4. Chris Ryan

Chris Ryan Standard User

+1

I'd like to see more Linux support please.

5. mckechg

mckechg Standard User

6. Jakabfi Tamás

Jakabfi Tamás Standard User

Wiht INDI, is it possible to use ST-7E via parallel port? If yes, how?

Thank you,
    Tamás

7. Jan Soldan

Jan Soldan Cyanogen Customer

I would say no, becase INDI driver is based on linux sbigudrv shared library.
    Jan

8. Jakabfi Tamás

But the documentation said, that the universal driver can support parallel port.