Star faded message

Discussion in 'General' started by Van, Sep 30, 2017.

1. Van

Van Standard User

I get an all white (almost looks like a camera flat) sub frame while tracking stars, bright or dim. It causes a momentary "star faded" message and tracking is interrupted for a frame or two. Note: tracking always returns to normal but the condition repeats in a seemingly periodic pattern. It is not a function of the mount and occurs with no clouds what so ever. Lower values of aggressiveness help compensate but I am not able to achieve optimal performance, nor will I ever.

I have the following setup:

Maximdl 6.13 pro suite
    SBIG 1603 with internal guide camera and filter wheel
    Focuser
    Tak mount
    All USB cables run through a single high speed port with one powered USB cable to host PC

I have been imaging for 17 years but only started seeing this condition when I updated my equipment to all diffraction limited e.g SBIG camera and Maximdl.

2. Colin Haig

Colin Haig Staff Member

Hi Van, I'm another customer like you. While you wait to hear from the Diffraction folks, here's a couple suggestions.
    1. You may have already tried this, so forgive me. Download and install the latest SBIG Driver checker. The autoupdate doesn't always get the latest stuff. Check the drivers and update them of you haven't done so. Check the camera firmware and update.
    2. Turn off USB Selective Suspend power management, on the USB Root hubs, the USB hubs, and all USB devices. You don't want Windows autosleeping something on you.
    3. There are a bunch of updates that have gone into 6.13 patch 08 that may help. The new 6.14 has some issues with guiding, and there is a beta 8 for that which seems to improve things, but it needs a bit more testing by willing users.
    The 6.13.08 patch:
    http://forum.diffractionlimited.com/threads/maxim-dl-v6-13-patch.2695/