'Waiting for Maxim DL' message

Discussion in 'Image Capture' started by Mel Martin, May 27, 2015.

  1. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    I'm using Maxim DL 5.18 with CCDAutopilot and having an odd problem. I do have the latest Maxim DL 6.x but haven't switched over to it yet for a variety of reasons.

    Lately, I get an odd behavior. Watching the camera control window, I will finish an exposure, and the window will report 'downloading image'. Then I get a 'waiting for Maxim DL' message, and Maxim is unresponsive. This usually ends after 60 or 70 seconds. There is nothing in the Maxim log, or in the CCDAutopilot log that shows anything odd.

    I'm seeing this on almost every downloaded image, although not all of them, and I can't see any pattern. The error is from Maxim, and not CCDAP.

    Any ideas here? I'm losing a lot of imaging time while the app pauses waiting for something, but I don't know what. Thanks.

    Mel
     
  2. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Usually that happens if an image processing command is already active (e.g. you have Kernel Filters open or such) when the software tries to display a downloaded image. We don't want the new image usurping the active image processing operation.
     
  3. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Hi Doug

    Thanks for responding. I don't think it could be that, as the problem services shutting both Maxim and the computer down. Any other suggestions? The delay is about 70 seconds.

    Mel
     
  4. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Have upgraded to Maxin DL 6 and have the same problem. Every few images I get the Waiting for Maxim DL message. Program is unresponsive for more than a minute... I have captured a log, and you can see a 10 minute image takes 11 + minutes before Maxim moves on. You can see in the log that I also zoomed in and out on the previous image, but that's never been a problem before. The issue is around 7:45 UT. This is killing a lot of my imaging time... it happens with only Maxim running (CCDAP off, Focus Max off). My camera is a STF8300m from SBIG...

    07:12:54*5 Started 3.000s 324x243 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:13:01$5 Guider Tracking Started
    07:13:20*4 Started 600.000s 3352x2532 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (0, 0)
    07:23:20*4 Completed 600.000s 3352x2532 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (0, 0)
    07:23:32$5 Guider Tracking Stopped
    07:23:35*5 Started 3.000s 324x243 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:23:42$5 Guider Tracking Started
    07:24:01*4 Started 600.000s 3352x2532 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (0, 0)
    07:34:02*4 Completed 600.000s 3352x2532 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (0, 0)
    07:34:12$5 Guider Tracking Stopped
    07:34:12$5 Guider Tracking Stopped
    07:34:20*5 Started 3.000s 324x243 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:34:26*5 Started 3.000s 324x243 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:34:32*5 Started 3.000s 324x243 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:34:42$5 Guider Tracking Started
    07:34:42$5 Guider Tracking Stopped
    07:34:46*5 Started 3.000s 324x243 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:34:52$5 Guider Tracking Started
    07:35:12*4 Started 600.000s 3352x2532 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (0, 0)
    07:37:09>6 Process, Calibrate: M16OIII1x1.00163.fit
    07:37:13>6 View, Zoom Out: M16OIII1x1.00163.fit
    07:37:14>6 View, Zoom Out: M16OIII1x1.00163.fit
    07:37:15>6 View, Zoom In: M16OIII1x1.00163.fit
    07:37:33>6 Edit, Undo: M16OIII1x1.00163.fit
    07:37:34>6 View, Zoom Out: M16OIII1x1.00163.fit
    07:45:12*4 Completed 600.000s 3352x2532 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (0, 0)
    07:46:34$5 Guider Tracking Stopped
    07:47:00*4 Started 10.000s 1676x1266 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:47:10*4 Completed 10.000s 1676x1266 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:47:20*4 Started 10.000s 1676x1266 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:47:30*4 Completed 10.000s 1676x1266 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (0, 0)
    07:47:37*4 Started 0.200s 1257x1257 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (210, 4)
    07:47:37*4 Completed 0.200s 1257x1257 exposure, binned 2x2, ROI (210, 4)
    07:47:40*4 Started 0.200s 100x100 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (1634, 1223)
    07:47:41*4 Completed 0.200s 100x100 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (1634, 1223)
    07:47:42*4 Started 0.200s 100x100 exposure, binned 1x1, ROI (1634, 1223)
     
  5. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
  6. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks Doug... looking at the settling box, I have the top option selected. Not sure if that is 'off' or 'on'.
    This issue is intermittent, and I would assume if it was a setting it would happen on each image. What I see is the image downloads, then I get the 'waiting' message, and my main Maxim window adds 'not responding' to the window title.

    Mel
     
  7. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Are you running any scripts during your acquisition sequence (i.e. configured on the Autosave Setup dialog)?
     
  8. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Thanks for getting back to me. There are no scripts, I've never created any. Any work is done through CCDAP 5. However, under options in the AutoSave page, is a menu item called 'delay between light frames only' and that is checked. Not sure what that is....

    Mel
     
  9. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,598
    Doesn't do anything unless you've dialed in a delay between exposures.

    Please send us your settings (zipped please), from My Documents/MaxIm DL 6/Settings
     
  10. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Here you are...
     

    Attached Files:

  11. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Any thoughts on this problem? It is still occurring and really interfering with my imaging. Thanks

    Mel
     
  12. Owen Lawrence

    Owen Lawrence Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,170
    Hi Mel,

    Do you have two separate cameras?
    And a filter wheel?
    Exactly what are they, and how is everything physically connected?

    You do have two separate cameras configured in MaxIm DL. They will be competing for time when they are downloading. Without knowing more about your hardware I can't tell if this is the correct approach.
    You also have your Camera 2 set to High Priority downloads, which could make things worse for Camera 1, which is set to Medium.

    - Owen -
     
  13. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Hi Owen

    I've been chatting with Doug about this. Camera 2 is a guider.. I have an STF8300 with STi guider and the SBIG 8 position filter wheel. This happens with only one camera running, such as when I use FocusMax. The delay is always 70 seconds. Everything freezes... Maxim reports non responding, and when after 70 seconds the issue stops. It happens on both Maxim V5 and 6.

    Very curious, and it is burning a lot if imaging time. Some nights, it works pretty well, no delays. Sometimes it happens 4-5 times. Some nights it happens on every image. No other software is being changed. I'm running Windows 8.1 (recent upgrade). Drivers perhaps?

    Thanks

    Mel
     
  14. Owen Lawrence

    Owen Lawrence Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,170
    I meant to suggest you double check that your SBIG drivers are up to date (use SBIGDriverChecker64). Sorry, I don't have any idea if Windows 8.1 could be a factor. Is this a new problem, and does it coincide with any other changes you made on your system (including the OS)?

    FocusMax uses MaxIm DL's automation interface to issue commands. Do you still experience the problem when just exposing images directly, manually, from within MaxIm DL?

    Does anything change the length of delay, such as choosing a small subframe, or binning?

    If it happens in both V5 and V6, it must be in common to both, suggesting the SBIG camera plugin for MaxIm DL, SBIG camera drivers, the OS, or hardware.
    Does it also occur with other software such as CCDOps?

    Contributing factors could be long USB cables, extension cables, USB hubs, using the front ports on a PC (or just a bad port).

    Do you have other USB devices (or even network devices) attached to the computer that might be competing for "attention"?

    Can you try some tests without your 2nd camera and without your filter wheel powered up? (Select "No Camera" and "No Filter" before the test.) Does it make a difference? (Your settings will be restored when you select SBIG Universal again.)


    - Owen -
     
  15. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    I will double check the drivers. It's a fairly new problem.

    Yes, I get the problem with Maxim DL alone, without any automation running. I will try the suggestions you have made. The two cameras are into separate USB ports on the laptop in the observatory. A 3rd USB port has the mount and the focuser through a hub.

    That's always been the case for the last couple of years. No issues that I am aware of.

    Thanks

    Mel
     
  16. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Running driver checker, the first two drivers were out of date, so I have updated them. I'll report back if this fixes the issues.

    Mel
     
  17. Mel Martin

    Mel Martin Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    74
    Updating drivers made no difference.
     
  18. Owen Lawrence

    Owen Lawrence Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,170
    Okay, I'll wait to hear the results of the other tests I suggested. I'm particularly interested if there's any interplay between the two cameras causing it to stumble, so I'd like to hear how well it works with Camera 2 set to "No camera". Try the test with each camera.

    Before changing anything, you might want to use File | Configurations... to save your current setup. It'll be easier to restore later.

    - Owen -
     
  19. Joshua Bury

    Joshua Bury Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    I'm also experiencing this issue when running v-curves with FocusMax. It's a fairly new observatory setup, so I'm not sure yet if I'll encounter the issue beyond this scenario. However, I wanted to see if a cause and/or fix was discovered for this? I also am using a STF-8300C with an ST-i for guiding (though the ST-i is not active while running v-curves with FocusMax).

    Josh
     
  20. Owen Lawrence

    Owen Lawrence Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2014
    Messages:
    1,170
    Hi Josh,

    Are you using the latest MaxIm DL version (V6.17)? It includes some enhanced logging features that we can enable to show what requests FocusMax is making of MaxIm DL when it happens. There's a rather tight protocol required for another program to follow when getting image data. If either program stumbles a little bit this is the sort of thing that can result.

    To produce this sort of log, first click View | LogWindow, right-click in it and enable Debug logging. Then use Notepad to create a file called CCDCamera.txt in your Documents\MaxIm DL 6\Settings folder. Put the following text inside it:

    LogMessages 1
    LogAll 1
    Restart MaxIm DL, and then use FocusMax to cause the problem once, and then exit both programs. Locate the most recent MaxIm DL log file in your ...Settings\Log directory, zip it and upload it here. Perhaps it'll illustrate the sequence of commands that lead to the delay, and we can sort it out from there.

    After you've done this, set those 1s to 0 (zero), or rename or delete the CCDCamera.txt file, to prevent your log files from perpetually filling up your disk.

    Thanks for your help. I wish I had an easier answer for you.

    - Owen -
     

Share This Page