Resolved Odd artifacts in image

Discussion in 'Aluma CCD Series' started by mike m benjamin, Nov 24, 2019.

1. mike m benjamin

mike m benjamin Cyanogen Customer

I had my first light with my Aluma U694/FW8G attached to my Meade 70mm quad, as I am new to using Maxim it was a little bit of a rough start but I figured out enough to get guiding and take some test images. This is a 220s test shot using the supplied pro package red 36mm filter of the flaming star nebula (improperly labeled,lol) are seen in the lower left side are some odd reflections that streak. This shot was the worst example from last night (Moonless) my guess it's the filter causing this?

Mike Benjamin

Attached Files:

2. Doug

Doug Staff Member

Looks like some sort of reflection. Might be a filter, but could also be something in front of the camera. There are some very bright stars in the area.

Is it just one filter that shows that, or do all of them? Did you check the filters for damage or streaks (possibly picked up during installation).

3. mike m benjamin

Doug, here is a Lum of M42 from last night, same artifacts, not quite as bright or large either side of the satellite trail. I checked the filters closely upon install, they are clean.

Attached Files:

• M42.png
      M42.png
      File size:
      7 MB
      Views:
  4. Doug

Doug Staff Member

Okay so that’s not from a star - it wouldn’t be in the same place. It’s not the camera either because that’s clearly something optical in nature.

I’m now thinking it’s some kind of light leak. Can you post a picture of your setup?

5. mike m benjamin

Doug, here's a mock up from last night. I double checked the seams of the Filter wheel, camera and the M48 adapter, look tight, no gaps. The Meade has a camera rotator with M48 male threads. I used my STT-8300/FW8G setup on this refractor many times with no issues.

Attached Files:

6. Doug

Doug Staff Member