Another blooming question regarding the 11002

Discussion in 'STX and STXL Series Cameras' started by Anders Hörberg, Aug 7, 2020.

1. Anders Hörberg

Anders Hörberg Cyanogen Customer

Hi again guy´s

Regarding blooming issues with the STXL 11002, as i recall it, i did some change concerning this when i first got the camera back in 2013 with the assistance of some technician at SBIG and it worked fine..

Cant recall exactly what we did, but as i remember it was adjusting sensitivity in some way for the sensor, now i am a electronic engineer and my business is hardware development, so i dont have a problem adjusting levels if i just have a roadmap on what to look for..

I have enclosed 2 pics ( dont worry about the poor quality, we have both the moon and clouds here ) and i´m adjusting spacing from flattener, but it´s still very visible

BR

/ Anders

Attached Files:

2. Colin Haig

Colin Haig Staff Member

That's mechanical imperfections in your mount in the first image - you can see gaps in some of the stars.
    Have a look at 288,2411 in the 10 minute ic1396 file. I've cropped a bit of it, so you can see 3 stars in the middle, vertically.
    10_crop.jpg
    If you are doing these long exposures, you need to get your mount running well, with guiding.

One more tip - blooming tends to be symmetrical - the pixels above and below will both be bloomed into. This is asymmetrical, so more likely mechanical or optical.
    This is mechanical - not tracking perfectly.

3. Anders Hörberg

Hi Colin

Really? - since this is the same as i had Many years ago as i recall it!...... now if i just focus with the camera and havent the cooler turned on this get 10x More visible at just 40sek test exposure
    Running a 10Micron HPS 1000

What would you guess it could be? Having a TS Photoline 107mm refractor with A 0.73X flattner 520mm FL

4. Doug

Doug Staff Member