A few questions about Planet Master

Discussion in 'Image Capture' started by Danny K, Jul 22, 2016.

  1. Danny K

    Danny K Standard User

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    It seems that when using Planet Master, only half the image is visible (and half of the "sharpest" image is visible as well). Is there a way to configure this so that the entire image is visible (or even turn off the calculations/preview for the sharpest image)? If not, is there any way to view a continuous stream of full images at short exposure?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,484
    Danny, not sure if Planetmaster is still supported - it's probably 16+ years old. What version and camera are you using?
     
  3. Danny K

    Danny K Standard User

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    Camera is the STF 8300 monocrhome. I'm using CCDops 5; not sure if there's another version number on that, but it was downloaded a few days ago from the "Current Software" page.
     
  4. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,484
    Ok, CCDops Planet Master function, was thinking the old standalone program.
    After playing with it for a bit, I've come to the same conclusion - it just gives you the half image to the left, and the best one so far to the right.
    I'm not aware of a way to get a full image using the planet master function.
    There are other software programs out there...

    Hopefully someone else can chime in.
     
  5. Danny K

    Danny K Standard User

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2016
    Messages:
    3
    I've played around with it, and it seems like the best way to get a more-or-less live feed is in "Focus" mode using "Planet" for the frame size (then the size can be set as desired). With the camera setting on Low resolution and a frame size of about 1/2 the normal size, I could get around 1.5 frames per second in Focus mode.
     

Share This Page