Staff Assigned: Tim AC4040 Shutter is stuck

Discussion in 'Aluma AC Series CMOS' started by Merrel Miller, Dec 11, 2021.

1. Merrel Miller

Merrel Miller Cyanogen Customer

Doug, I’m having a problem similar to Greg Nelson in his post dated November 20, 2021. The colder the ambient is the more often the shutter sticks halfway. Tonight I started up at the lowest temperature I’ve done since I got my AC4040 (35 degrees). The shutter is stuck and my l procedure of cycling the camera power no longer works in loosing it up. Do I use the same procedure you gave him to correct this issue?

2. Doug

Doug Staff Member

We will have to check; the shutter might just need a little adjustment. What is your serial number?

3. Merrel Miller

Doug, thanks for the prompt follow up....the serial is AC404-21082603. A short while ago, I brought the camera in from my observatory and found that one half of the shutter was stuck. I gently nudged it, and it loosened. The camera seems to function properly now but this issues seems to be happening more often as the nights get colder. It appears to possibly have tight tolerances in the closed position. Looking forward to your thoughts on adjustment. Thanks again. Merrel

4. Doug

Doug Staff Member

I'll ask @Tim to comment.

5. Merrel Miller

Tim, any suggestions?

6. Tim

Tim Staff Member

Are you able to provide a video demonstrating the issue?

7. Merrel Miller

There is nothing to video. The normal square image is black on half of the image because half of the shutter gets stuck from time to time. Normally cycling the power which engages the shutter frees it but this time it took me bringing the camera inside and and freeing it with a small screwdriver. Did you get a chance to look at Doug's response to Greg Nelson when he had a similar problem?

8. Tim

Tim Staff Member

If you have not tried it already, then I would suggest you try the fix Doug provided to Greg Nelson. If that doesn't help, it will need to come in for service.