AOX Calibration in TheSkyX

Discussion in 'Adaptive Optics (AO)' started by RodG, Apr 24, 2020.

  1. RodG

    RodG Standard User

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Has anyone seen a problem in TSX where you get the error, “Motion too small during X+ move. Increase calibration time. Error=554” when you ry to calibrate the AOX? Any suggestions on how to correct this issue?

    Rod
     
  2. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,870
    @Colin Haig might have some suggestions.

    Perhaps check if it works in CCDOPS. If it does then it's a software issue of some kind.

    Failing that, you'd best ask on the Software Bisque support forum.
     
  3. RodG

    RodG Standard User

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    Thanks for the quick response. I am planning on checking it with CCDOPS tonight (weather permitting). I also have a thread open on the Bisque forums. Just trying to research all options.

    Rod
     
  4. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,469
    Rod - what mount do you have and how is it connected to the guider? e.g. Astrophysics AP1600 to ST-4 port; Paramount and software guiding?
    If it is an ST-4 cable, then it might need the opposite wiring, e.g. flipped vs straight-through.
    One thing i do is check that the guiding is actually working in all 4 axes. e.g. the guide +x/-x should move the RA faster / RA slower; +y/-y should move Dec axis up or down. (The direction depends on your hemisphere eg Northern vs Southern)
    If you find nothing happening in 1 axis, it may be that cable.
    If software, am not sure, you may have to give it more time... ideally, the star should move several pixels in each of the 4 directions.
    You can also check the AO in CCDOPS test this by exercising the AO and snapping an image, or just look/listen to make sure the AO is moving in all 4 directions.
    IF I think of something else, will let you know.
    Tom House on the Bisque forums is a great resource too.
     
  5. RodG

    RodG Standard User

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    I have a Paramount using the ST-4 port. That is not the problem. I can calibrate with the relays OK. It's just when I try and calibrate the AO that I receive the error. Actually the error really makes no sense since there is no timing parameter for the AO.

    Rod
     
  6. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,469
    Have you set the FOVI up and your optical parameters in TSX? It might be doing a calculation based on # of pixels etc.
     

Share This Page