Resolved Apogee Filter Wheel wont initialize

Discussion in 'General' started by NTusay, Feb 28, 2020.

1. NTusay

NTusay Standard User

I have an Andor camera with an Apogee FW50-7S filter wheel. Everything was working fine with MaximDL 6.20. I updated to the latest version last night and now every time I go to setup filter and connect the camera it gives me an error saying the filter wheel could not initialize and it refuses to connect to the camera. I tried updating the drivers for the filter wheel and camera and USB ports and windows insists all drivers are up to date. I have no idea what to do but I need this resolved ASAP. Any help would be appreciated.

2. Colin Haig

Colin Haig Staff Member

3. NTusay

NTusay Standard User

I would love to, but I am a student using the school’s telescope and software. I don’t know the email address we used to register the product in the first place and can’t complete the form.

4. Colin Haig

Colin Haig Staff Member

In MaxIm, you can do a Help About and it will tell you who the software is registered to.
    Normally we provide support to the observatory director / whoever the software is licensed to.

Since you're in a tight spot, let me suggest a couple things:
    Try turning the Threading options on for your devices.
    In MaxIm DL Pro, Camera Control Window.
    Options
    Check that the threading settings are on for both devices:
    threading.png

If you have selected an ASCOM camera to use the ASCOM ANDOR camera driver, then you may need this patch that replaces the CCDPlugASCOM.zip

Since I cannot guess which ANDOR camera you have, I'll also mention that if you are using the ANDOR Plug In for MaxIm, that it needs to be the version 2.xxx from Andor.

Attached Files:

5. NTusay

NTusay Standard User

Thanks for the tips. I've located the registration info and have signed up for the software support.