Assembly Question

Discussion in 'STX and STXL Series Cameras' started by Martin Pugh, Jun 29, 2022.

  1. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Hi Doug/Colin
    a bit confused about the assembly/connections between the following.

    STX16803 (original dual ccd)
    FW7 STX
    SC3
    AOX

    I havent powered anything up yet before I checked.
    Right now I have the FW cable plugged into the I2C out port on the AOX
    I have the long DB9 cable connected between the I2C auxiliary port on the camera and the I2C In port on the AOX.

    The SC3 documentation states I should connect the aux port on the SC3 to the I2C in port on the AOX....the only cable I have that is compatible with the aux port on the SC3 has a DC jack on it for power.

    Also...if I do that then there appears to be no connection between the actual camera and anything else.

    Please advise!
    thanks
    Martin
     
  2. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,407
    Location:
    Earth
    No.
    1. Camera -> FW
    2. SC3 -> AOX
    No connections between 1 and 2. The SC3 is a fully independent camera, and controls the AO-X directly.
    The camera only controls the FW.
     
  3. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,407
    Location:
    Earth
  4. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Thanks Colin
    I dont recall that cable, but will look for it in my packaging tomorrow. I still need a USB connection from the SC3 to my PC though right?
     
  5. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,407
    Location:
    Earth
    Correct.
    The SC3 is a fully independent camera. It needs it's own USB to the computer, and it's own power supply. It supplies power and control signals to the AO-X.

    The STX camera needs it's own USB to the computer and it's own power supply. It supplies power and control signals to the Filter Wheel. There should only be a white pigtail cable from the filter wheel to the camera.
    No other connections to the FW.
     
  6. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Hi Colin….I found that cable so I have it all connected up but have ran into another issue.
    I have to use the SkyX as its the only way I can get the AOX to work correctly.
    So I have the camara configured as STX Cameras as there is no connection to the AOX any longer.
    With the SC3 I do not get the option to enable the AO when I use the ASCOM driver, and if I select ‘Maxim DL camera’ it obviously starts Maxim. In Maxim I have configured the SC3 to use AO and I can get that all to connected.
    But what I really need is SC3/AO control in SkyX.

    Any way to do this?
    thanks
    Martin
     
  7. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,407
    Location:
    Earth
    Hmmm... no way to do this that I am aware of. The issue is the X2 drivers are needed to do this, and it never got done by the third party.
     
  8. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    That is very bad news for me as this camera is supposed to be headed for a new scope in Chile. Using AOX is the reason why I get sub-arcsecond data. So what you are saying is that the SC/AOX can only be operated by Maxim DL which still does not work with an AOX.
     
  9. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Colin....so I need to get Bisque to write the drivers?
     
  10. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,407
    Location:
    Earth
    We sent Bisque hardware about 3 years ago; they never did the work; a third party has the hardware now, and is trying to do X2 on Linux, Mac, and then Windows and it sits with him.
     
  11. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Hi Colin
    so when I set this up in Maxim, would you please advise what the right settings would be for Camera 1, FW7-STX, Camera 2 plus what ever the DL Imaging driver needs.

    thanks
    martin
     
  12. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,407
    Location:
    Earth
    Like so:
    stx_sc3_ao.png
    (I had to fix the picture).
     
  13. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    I get an error when clicking on that Colin.
     
  14. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6,407
    Location:
    Earth
    Try again.
     
  15. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Terrific, thanks Colin.
     
  16. Martin Pugh

    Martin Pugh Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    322
    Hi Colin
    just downloaded ver 2.09 of the StarChaser manual.
    At paragraph 5.13f - it states to select Sensor 2 from the AO drop down menu, which conflicts with the screenshot you sent above.

    regards
    Martin
     
  17. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    9,309
    That is an error in the manual - thanks for spotting that. Will fix.
     

Share This Page