Basic Processing Help with images from STF8300

Discussion in 'My Astrophotos' started by John Cangelosi, Oct 19, 2022.

1. John Cangelosi

John Cangelosi Standard User

Hello,
    I'm hoping to get some basic help with the image processing workflow. I'm a teacher at a high school and we have a pretty good observatory (12" Newt f7.8, Paramount ME, STF-8300, auto guider, filter wheel, etc.). I had some good results last year collecting (decent autoguided 5 min exposures) files of M51 over multiple nights, stacking, and color processing in Photoshop. Our next target (for no particular reason) is the Ring Nebula and I'm running into some issues with the basics.

I have included some screen captures of a single 35 second exposure where I used CCDOps5 to both 'Auto Contrast' and then manually adjusted the back and contrast to what I thought looked OK. I've also included the original fitts.

When collecting the test images (including the attached) earlier this month I found that my longer exposures made the Ring look really blown out (in the TheSKYX preview that shows right after the image is taken) so I backed my time way down to 4-6 seconds depending on the filter (even though details of good images I found online were collected with pretty long exposures).
    When I tried to stack in Deep Sky Stacker I ran into some weird issues such as the Red channel not stacking (not enough stars for that exposure I assume). So I did some adjusting of the images in MaxIm LT and re-stacked but I ended up making things worse with color balance and making everything uniform (in terms of contrast).
    Upon further reading (CCDOps manual) it seems like I should be just concentrating on my background readings (?)

Here are some questions if you have a moment:
    If I can capture a long exposure should I- even though the object of interest looks blown out and without detail (no darker center of the Ring)? (should I just strive for a certain background count with my 8300?).