Camera error 17

Discussion in 'STX and STXL Series Cameras' started by David Koslicki, Jan 16, 2024.

1. David Koslicki

David Koslicki Cyanogen Customer

Hello,

I had been imaging with my STX-16803 for a few months before I swapped it out for a different camera. It had been operating just fine then. After setting it back up on my scope tonight, I have frequently been running into "camera error 17" which I understand to be an issue with the shutter. The shutter had given me no problems before I put it in storage for a bit.

Interestingly, power cycling everything and re-seating all the cables (with the power off) caused it to "work" for about 5 frames. I don't know how well it actually worked though, as I was chasing focus after re-installing it on my scope (but at least it generated a FIT file). It then started to throw the same "camera error 17" after those 5 test images.

Additional diagnostics:

MaxIMDL version: 6.40

Drivers:
    Driver Name Version Date
    =================================================
    sbigudrv.dll 5.1.1.0 01-26-22
    sbigu64.sys 2.41.0.1338 12-22-20
    sbigpcam.hex 2.46 12-22-20
    sbiglcam.hex 2.20 12-22-20
    sbigfcam.hex 2.25 12-22-20
    sbigfga.bin 2004.11.10 12-22-20

Firmware:
    Linked Camera: STX-16803
    Firmware Camera Version Release Version Camera is Current
    stxusb.bf2 1.06 1.06 Yes
    stxga.bf2 2.54 2.54 Yes
    stx16803.nf2 1.00.05 1.00.05 Yes
    stx0340.bf2 1.00.04 1.00.04 Yes

CCDOps give a similar “shutter error”.

Screenshot of MaxImDL error: https://www.dropbox.com/s/tu5qmdyt6nz2np1/Screenshot 2024-01-16 at 9.30.08 PM.png?dl=0

Error of “Can’t start exposure” in completely different imaging software (APT): https://www.dropbox.com/s/w9cst8oinojnvzf/Screenshot 2024-01-16 at 7.57.15 PM.png?dl=0

Video of what it sounds like when I try to image a couple of times: https://www.dropbox.com/scl/fi/p6ma...1-PM.mp4?rlkey=xhlpzmf7pmyu48n7a62wns8dp&dl=0