Staff Assigned: Tim Camera is not working

Discussion in 'Aluma Series' started by Pablo Weigandt, Sep 10, 2019.

  1. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    My aluma was working properly and suddenly the computer did not detect it or recognize it any more!
     
  2. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,194
    Let's start with the basics:

    Check that all cables are plugged in correctly - power cable, extension cable, USB cable
    Cycle power to the camera.
    Power - LED turns on? Fans on?
    Are you using a USB hub? Bad USB cable?
    Computer end - USB connector okay? Try a different one?
    Does it show up in the Device Manager?
     
  3. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Power LED turns on. Fans on too. Does not showbup in the Divece Manager.
     
  4. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,194
    Try a different cable.

    Try a different port on the PC.

    Is it installed in a permanent observatory, or in portable operation?

    If it is a WiFi model, can you connect to it that way?

    What is the camera serial number?
     
  5. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    ll send youthe SN ASAP. Can you show me exactly with a picture where is the reset button ( or hole)?
     
  6. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,194
    Reset only affects the WiFi interface. It has no effect on USB.
     
  7. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Anyway tell me please where is the reset button.
     
  8. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,194
    It is a small hole adjacent to the black plastic WiFi antenna cover and the microSD Card slot.
     
  9. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    We have another Aluma. Using this other camera everything works fine (same cables, same computer). When we change the camera the computer detects an "unknown device". We also try all ports.
     
  10. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,194
    Okay then it sounds like the camera’s USB port got damaged or lost its configuration somehow.

    I’ll ask @Tim if he has any other ideas, and if not he will issue an RMA.
     
  11. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,624
    Unfortunately it sounds like it will need to come in for inspection. Please submit the following form and we will send you the details to return it.

    http://diffractionlimited.com/request-rma
     
  12. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Any news?
     
  13. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,624
  14. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Sorry, I didn't see your message. We will proceed with the RMA as soon as possible.
     
  15. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    We already proceeded with the RMA.
     
  16. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,624
    PM sent
     
  17. Pablo Weigandt

    Pablo Weigandt Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Messages:
    29
    Ok. I also need to add a phone number.
     

Share This Page