FW8-8300 and dew on filters?

Discussion in 'Filter Wheels' started by Clayton Bownds, Jul 20, 2015.

1. Clayton Bownds

Clayton Bownds Standard User

I live and image in a very (read:extremely) humid part of the south. Texas this year has been inundated with rain and the relative humidity has consistently been above 90% the few times I've been able to image this year. I am relatively new to imaging with a cooled, monochromatic CCD, so often when things go sideways while imaging, I don't know or understand how to troubleshoot them... I'm getting better, but still a "newbie". The last several imaging sessions have been cut short do to some phenomenon where my images get fuzzy and out of focus similar to when there is dew on the OTA, but the dew heaters I was using were doing their job on the front elements, so I didn't know where it might be. I thought that maybe the cooling was an issue, so I lowered the setpoint from -10C to -5C and watched to see if that helped. It may have helped a little, but that could have just been my wishful thinking. Anyway, I ended up packing it in scratching my noggin. Last night, I think I had a eureka moment. I was setting up to image and took a set of Luminance subs with the blank spot on my wheel (no filter) and everything looked great... so far so good. I moved to the red filter for the first of my RGB channels and it was a blurry mess... green and blue were the same... just for fun, I tried the narrowband filters (these were all just short test subs at this point) and they were the same. I moved back to the blank spot and took a relatively crisp and clean looking image. Eureka! Something is going on with the filters. So my first and obvious question is: Is this normal for higher humidity areas? What is the preferred way to manage this? I borrowed a long, velcro dew heater strip from another nearby imager and wrapped it around the protruding portion of the FW8 rectangle (the part of the wheel extending beyond the camera body) and ran