Guiding with ST i and imaging ST 8300

Discussion in 'Image Capture' started by Tetzu sashida, Apr 1, 2015.

  1. Tetzu sashida

    Tetzu sashida Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Hello I am trying to use my ST8300 and the STi guider kit but it does not take both cameras in the same program, it only use one or the other, how can I use both of them the image grabber ST 8300 and the guiding camera ST I?
     
  2. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
  3. Wilfrid Ouellet

    Wilfrid Ouellet Standard User

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Hello Tetzu, I have the same cameras and I use two computers: an old one for guiding and the newer for Imaging. Software is CCDops.
     
  4. Tetzu sashida

    Tetzu sashida Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Thank you Wilfrid, that is what I will do, I already have the CCDops, and the SkyX and beginning to understand the use of them,
     
  5. GlennS

    GlennS Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Danville, CA and Scottsdale, AZ
    Using Maxim will allow you to Image and guide at the same time. Maxim also allows you to take sequences of images (if you have a color wheel, you will need to take sets of images through multiple filters), and has many image proceeding tools.
     
  6. wtconner

    wtconner Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Spencer, IN
    I use the SkyX for imaging and guiding as it will handle both cameras. You do have to pay for the camera add-on however.
    Bill
     
  7. Mike Hambrick

    Mike Hambrick Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2016
    Messages:
    167
    You have probably resolved this issue by now, but since I did not see this particular solution in any of the previous replies, I thought that I would add that with the CCDOps software you can open a second session of CCDOps. You can run the ST8300 from the first session and the ST-I froom the second.

    From the menu bar select File - Launch 2nd CCDOps. and the second (or alternate) session will open. I have a ST2000 and a ST-i, and I will first start CCDOps and establish the Com-link to the ST2000 before I launch the second session. When I use the establish Com-link command from the second session, it will connect with the ST-i.

    I have the same objective as you; I will use the ST2000 for imaging and the ST-i for guiding. I have other issues right now with the ST-I (will not work with my old mount for guiding), but the dual CCDOps concept is working fine. I can independently control both cameras.

    God luck, Mike
     

Share This Page