Image Abnormality - Flats 8300

Discussion in 'Aluma Series' started by Jason Handel, Jan 6, 2020.

  1. Jason Handel

    Jason Handel Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Team,

    I have noticed the following edge defects across multiple filters, particularly seems to occur with shorter exposures, like Flat Frames. Any idea what this is or remedy ? I have not noticed on long light frames.... Maybe related to light leakage ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Bill

    Bill SBIG Service and Repairs Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    468
    It looks like frost.

    -Bill
     
  3. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
    I agree..sure looks like frost. Has the camera been opened or the desiccant plug removed?

    Can you please provide the serial number written on the camera?
     
  4. Jason Handel

    Jason Handel Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks for reviewing these images. The frost idea makes sense as it seems to happen soon after camera connection, which is usually when I do my flats.

    I have not opened the camera, nor have I removed the dessicant plug. The serial number is AL8300M18081401
     
  5. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
    Have you tried recharging the desiccant plug as described in the camera users manual, Appendix C-2 (page 47)?
     
  6. Jason Handel

    Jason Handel Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    Tim, The desiccant plug doesn't seem to remove as described in the manual. As I turn the plug cap 90 degrees CCW (or at least what I suspect is the plug cap as I don't see an image in the users manual that specifically calls it out) the cap just seems to spin freely in either direction and does not seem to engage for release... I am concerned about trying to 'pry it out' so wanted to check before applying any force.
     
  7. Jason Handel

    Jason Handel Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2018
    Messages:
    28
    My apologies, I found a picture describing the plug in the Specifications document, which indicated locked position. I will try the procedure and report back. Thanks.
     

Share This Page