Issues with ST-1001 image frames

Discussion in 'Image Capture' started by Eric Hintz, Aug 23, 2016.

  1. Eric Hintz

    Eric Hintz Standard User

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Brigham Young University
    Right now I'm trying to get an older ST-1001 working on the new Maxim. The dark and zero looks mostly correct, but the image frames are coming out as alternate black and white areas at about 58000 counts. Any ideas would be very helpful.
     
  2. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Perhaps you could share some specifics of the setup, including versions of software, and hardware setup. e.g. Windows 10 64 bit, MaxIm DL 6.13, downloaded the latest SBIG driver checker and its version, camera is connected using XXX cables directly to PC, and using original power supply which is operating properly and giving 12V. Maybe upload a sample FITS file (or crop a part of one if its too big). It would be good to include the dark and bias (zero) frames, or at least a representative ADU values. Do flats come out as expected or same as lights? Did you test it just on the workbench, off the scope?
     
  3. Eric Hintz

    Eric Hintz Standard User

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Brigham Young University
    After a computer crash we are still running Windows XP, with all the latest MaxIm 6.13 and SBIG driver checker. It is USB connected directly to the computer. The flats act just like the image frames. Only the dark and zero seem to be working correctly. The CCD is not on the telescope right now.
     
  4. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Did it work before the computer crash and fail after you recovered from the crash? Does it behave the same on a second computer?
     
  5. Eric Hintz

    Eric Hintz Standard User

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Brigham Young University
    This is one of our older CCD that is a back-up and hasn't run for a couple years on this telescope. In all previous versions of MAXIM it worked fine. It seems like there are a lot of issues with different CCDs after the new version came out.
     
  6. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Well hopefully the Diffraction / SBIG team will have some ideas for you.
    In the mean time, it would be good if you could round up a couple of images, and use the "upload a file" button down to the right next to Post Reply.
    Would be good to try it on another PC, and to try it with say 5.24 of MaxIm if you have it installed somewhere.
    As it is, it could be a problem with camera, PC, or drivers. Hard to narrow it down with more specific info.
     
  7. Tim Puckett

    Tim Puckett Guest

    Don,

    Before we start looking at hardware or software can you test the camera with CCDOPS and see if its works properly.

    If it does not work properly email a fits image of the light frame (not overexposed) to my email address.

    Thanks
    Tim
     
  8. Eric Hintz

    Eric Hintz Standard User

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Location:
    Brigham Young University
    It comes up with the same pattern in CCDOPS as with MAXIM.
     
  9. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,862
    Please contact Bill @ Service & Repair.
     

Share This Page