New STF-8300m, reflection issue?

Discussion in 'STF Series CCD Cameras' started by Billrh, Jan 2, 2015.

1. Billrh

Billrh Standard User

I've been doing astrophotography for about 5 years now with my modified Canon 40D. Recently I upgraded and I received a new STF-8300m a few weeks ago. We had clear skies for the last few nights so I took a series of shots with the new camera. There seems to be some type of reflection or artifact in the center portion of the images. The more starlight there is the more intense it seems to be. I was not able to completely clean up the image using Pixinsight. I took the flats in the early morning before the sun rose and it's quite prominent.

The camera is attached to a Williams Optics 90mm Megretz with a 0.80x reducer. I removed the reducer and the 'reflection' is still there. I took similar shots with my Canon 40D and the reflection is gone.
    No filters where used with the SBIG camera since I don't have a filter wheel yet. The Canon had a CLS filter .

Since this is my first time using a CCD camera with my scope I'm hoping it's just pilot error on my part and someone out there can point me to how to fix this.

I have four .jpg images that show the issue on Flicker. I stretched the raw images and then saved them as .jpg files. The raw files can be uploaded to if that would be helpful.

STF-8300m, FLAT, 0.80x reducer, image taken in early morning prior to sunrise scope pointed to west sky with t-shirt over scope. It almost looks like someone is shining a flashlight in the center of the image.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/38999112@N02/15990783279/in/set-72157649661451647/

Canon 40D, FLAT, 0.80x reducer. Same setup as above taken the following morning.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/38999112@N02/16151318576/in/set-72157649661451647/

STF-8300m, Lovejoy, 30 sec, 0.80 reducer