Parameterization of the 16803

Discussion in 'STX and STXL Series Cameras' started by Mark McComiskey, Jan 20, 2020.

1. Mark McComiskey

Mark McComiskey Cyanogen Customer

I am new to the SBIG world, and am lucky enough to have a 16803.

I am familiarizing myself with the camera, and as part of that effort, have been running CCDParameters in Pixinsight in order to match the results up against the camera specifications. There are a couple of places where the results from Pixinsight differ markedly from the camera specifications, and I was hoping someone could help me reconcile the differences or explain where I may have gone wrong in my approach.

The primary differences are in Full Well Capacity (where Pixinsight generates s figure of between 77k and 87k e vs camera specifications of 100k e) and in dark current at 0C, where Pixinsight generates a figure of 0.038e/second vs camera specifications of 0.8e/p/second.

Both the Pixinsight report and a link to the test frames are below:

upload_2020-1-20_11-36-50.png

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/whqu4o7i8bvu8fw/AAAiDACOy5jxXhOyetwR2_Ija?dl=0

2. Doug

Doug Staff Member

The full well depth quoted is the nominal number from the sensor datasheet. The datasheet actually quotes minimum 85,000 and typical 100,000. Also please note that we optimize the EGAIN for each camera. In an ideal world we would set the converter so that it saturates slightly under 65,535 to maximize dynamic range... but if we do this then customers complain that they don't get their full 16 bits. So we set it to saturate the converter a little early. Linearity is degraded at that point anyway.

Dark current varies greatly from sensor to sensor, so it is specified conservatively.

What is your camera's serial number?

3. Mark McComiskey

Thanks for the quick response! I am travelling today, so will post the serial number when I get back this evening.