Staff Assigned: Adam Robichaud Problem with Aluma 8300 Wireless Connection

Discussion in 'Aluma Series' started by Greg Crawford, Jul 27, 2019.

  1. Greg Crawford

    Greg Crawford Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    After installing a wireless access point in my observatory, I was able to detect the Aluma 8300 wireless connection as a client of my home LAN using the standalone Camera Detection and Configuration app. This shows an IP address (and port). I was also able to ping this IP address successfully using the Command Prompt. However, when I try to use the Camera Detection and Configuration app within MaxImDL 6.20, it will not detect the presence of the camera and consequently will not connect to it. This is demonstrated by the graphic attached which shows both the windows of the standalone and MaxImDL 6.20 app side-by-side. The refresh buttons in both apps have both been pushed many times over several hours. The camera shows up in my wireless routers connection list as Wi2Wi.

    I see that the wireless firmware revision is "3". If there is a later version, I have been unable to access it because the download WiFi and Make WiFi card buttons remain greyed out.

    So I am looking for suggestions. :)

    -Greg

    View attachment 5994
     
    Last edited: Jul 27, 2019
  2. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,197
    So, it looks like the camera IP assigned was the 192.168.2.35 address.
    Did you put that in to MaxIm's camera setup BEFORE hitting the advanced tab?
    DLImagingIP.png
    And then try changing the value under Pick Camera.

    Also make sure you don't have the standalone utility open when trying to set up in MaxIm.
     
  3. Greg Crawford

    Greg Crawford Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Thanks again, Colin, for your great support!

    Initially I did not put the IP address in before clicking on "Advanced" because the camera did not show up in my router's table to tell me what IP address I would have. However, after I did put the IP address in, I kept trying again with no success. However, I turned off the standalone utility program and kept trying and eventually MaxImDL's Advanced window did detect the camera. I could not get the "Camera - Pick a Camera" to show any selection of camera, but, when I clicked on "Connect", MaxImDL did connect to the camera anyway. I was able to take and download images from the imaging chip, but the guiding chip, located in the filter wheel, suffered from error messages - "Error retrieving image array size" and despite numerous attempts I cannot get any camera to show up in the "Pick a camera "drop down list.

    This is not an urgent need. I wanted to experiment with the wireless connection in order to reduce the number of cables on the mount. I can easily use the USB method in the meantime.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2019
  4. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    2,197
    Hi Greg, we'll have a look at this.
    Meanwhile, one other thing you might want to do is look at setting up your router to provide an assigned address for the camera, usually under some kind of DHCP permanent IP settings or reservations.
    Otherwise the IP address could change from time to time.
    Alternatively, assign the camera a Static IP address that does not change, and make sure it does not overlap with the DHCP range that the router will assign.
    If it connects without the Pick a camera, don't worry about it.
     
  5. Greg Crawford

    Greg Crawford Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Hi Colin,
    Despite giving the camera its own IP address, which enables connection to the camera by wireless mode, the camera will not operate properly. First there is no guiding, but after a few attempts at just taking photos with the imaging chip, the camera reports an error and will no longer take main images as well. However, as I said, the need is not urgent, as I can connect by USB. If it came to it, I would vote for putting effort into getting the AO devices working with the Aluma cameras first.
     
  6. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    5,841
    Odd... we've had no problems with WiFi operation here.

    AO control is essentially complete and now being tested at the shop. I'm expecting to have a version to test in my observatory shortly. Once I'm reasonably happy with it we'll put out a beta release.
     
  7. Greg Crawford

    Greg Crawford Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Hi Doug,

    The problem manifests mostly as an error message: "Error retrieving image array size". This is usually associated with the Guide chip, which is in the filter wheel. I can go for say 10 images and then this error message. I have a wireless access point in the observatory about a metre away from the camera. The camera seems to be happier when the wireless mode is set to bgn rather than just n.

    Although the camera connects wirelessly and can be controlled wirelessly, the "Pick a camera" drop down list never shows any camera models. The camera shows up in the WiFi tab of the configuration utility/advanced setup of MaxImDL. I ascertained the camera's IP address from my router. (The WAP is not set to give out IP addresses.) The IP address is reserved for the camera in the router. The configuration utility shows wireless firmware revision 3. I don't know whether there are any later firmware revisions, but the buttons to download wireless firmware are greyed out. The constant stalling due to the error message makes the camera unusable for all night photometry. (The USB connection works fine.)
     
  8. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    5,841
    Thank you for the specific error message; perhaps @Adam Robichaud can have a look at that.
     
  9. Adam Robichaud

    Adam Robichaud Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    667
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Hi Greg,

    I'm aware of this issue, and it has to do with cached responses to asynchronous operation within MaxIm DL. I'm about to head out on vacation for a week and a bit, but I'll add this to the list of things to investigate more thoroughly when I get back (starting Sept 3rd).

    There are no newer revisions of the wireless firmware than 3, and it's not likely to need an update to fix this issue.

    Cheers,
    -A
     

Share This Page