[RESOLVED] STi not reading out

Discussion in 'Specialty Cameras SG-4, AllSky, ST-I' started by Mchaser, Nov 7, 2015.

  1. Mchaser

    Mchaser Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Hi,

    My STi (serial number 11537) has a stuck shutter. Also, when I take a photo, all pixels read 100. I'd love to have a camera with that smooth of a readout, but I'm guessing I don't. Driver is sbigu64.sys Ver 2.41.0.1338. The green light is on. How should I proceed?

    Thanks,

    Mike
     
  2. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7,308
  3. Mchaser

    Mchaser Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    15
  4. Gerald R Miller

    Gerald R Miller Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    I recently upgraded to Win10. Didn't care for it, went back to Win7. My ST-i started randomly showing the same symptoms as reported here. So I hooked it up to another PC that I also had upgraded to Win10, that had not reverted back to Win7. I had timeouts, connection dropoffs, and noise in the image. So I figured it was a ST'i issue. But, before I sent the camera back to Bill for repair, I tried the ST-i on yet another Win7 machine that had never been upgraded to Win10. Guess what? No issues. The camera behaved as it should. To be sure, I tested it on another Win7 machine, freshly installed. Again, the camera worked perfectly.

    I think there may be something in Win10 that doesn't like the SBIG drivers. I'm going to do a clean install on the original machine to be absolutely sure, and I have not yet thoroughly tested it out under the sky and can't until I do the re-installation of Win7 from scratch.

    But I thought I'd mention it here. It may save the camera a trip back to Bill to repair something when nothing is wrong with the hardware.
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2015
  5. Mchaser

    Mchaser Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    In my case, the computer only had been running Windows 7.

    Bill got back to me promptly after I shipped the camera. He said the smaller of the two circuit boards had failed, so he replaced it.

    All is well! Thanks Bill!
     
  6. Gerald R Miller

    Gerald R Miller Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Bill's the best-there couldn't be any better support/repair if you tried.

    I hope it's a Win10 issue for my camera. More testing this weekend will tell. It could be a circuit failure, though, that's just not cooperating.
     
  7. Gerald R Miller

    Gerald R Miller Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Turns out a powered hub became unplugged. Had nothing's to do with the OS.
     
  8. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7,308
    Ah, that explains it. Glad you got it working.
     

Share This Page