Resolved SBIG driver: error 27

Discussion in 'Legacy Models - Community Support' started by Pete Peterson, Nov 28, 2017.

1. Pete Peterson

Pete Peterson Standard User

Here we go again, 2 years later. But a bit more educated from the 1st round.

Running CCDSoft ver 5.00.210 I can't connect to the SBIG ST-8XME camera. Getting error message "SBIG driver: device not found Error Code 1027"

But running CCDOps version 5.57 build 3-NT I can connect to the camera.

This is a 32 bit desktop running Win XP and the system device manager confirms that the camera's connected and functioning using SBIG driver version 2.41.0.2 (which is what I've been running for 2 years now).

I'd had the camera off the scope for 6 weeks while teaching a course in backyard astronomy, and after remounting the ST8 the CCDOps wouldn't run. I'm 76 years old now and not as adroit with software as I used to be. My best guess for a fix is to delete and reload CCDSoft. I'm hesitant to do so as I do astrometry and the software's linked to The Sky 6 - plus there are a number of other CCDSoft settings in that that I might loose.

Could anyone please either confirm the desirability of deleting and reloading CCDSoft or taking some other action?

Thanks so much,

Pete

2. Doug

Doug Staff Member

Do NOT reinstall CCDSoft. It is unlikely to be the cause.

Error 27 is an error related to driver installation.

When you plug in the camera, does it appear in the Windows Device Manager? What does it show up as?

3. Pete Peterson

Hi Doug,

First, thanks for the response. This is Win XP, and under the Windows Device Manager I show "SBIG USB devices". Branching down shows "SBIG USB Camera with Firmware" Rather than text, here are some screen shots
    [​IMG]

The next level down in "driver":
    [​IMG]

And going all the way down using the 'UPDATE DRIVER button to see what's actually loaded on the PC we get:
    [​IMG]