STV guide wrong connection to Telescope CCD port

Discussion in 'General' started by Massimo Uberti, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Hi folks,
    I have in my hand a friend STV that claim no guide function out,
    I spent in the past a lot of night guiding film photos with this baby so and I accept to check out what wrong with it.

    Well, executed the relay sequence (1-2-3-4) to check out the RJ 11 pin out, I noticed that do not match the standard configuration also declared in the manual as follow:

    Ralay 1 RA+ (and this is the only one correct)
    Ralay 2 RA-
    Relay 3 Dec+
    Relay 4 Dec-

    Firmware version are 1.06 H the last one I suppose and the same I had in my STV

    The normal sequence should be

    Ralay 1 RA+
    Relay 2 Dec+
    Relay 3 Dec-
    Relay 4 RA-

    I guess if there is something to set somewhere to change into correct order.

    I did already the P RAM reset but nothing change.

    Thanks to everybody knows a first clue !

    Massimo
     
  2. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
    Is the RJ 11 cable you are using the one supplied with the STV?
     
  3. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Yes, is a reversed cable, grey one.
     
  4. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,710
    Have you checked the jumpers? Page 44 of the users manual.
     
  5. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    If you mean the 2 internal jumpers for relay box... yes ! they are in non relay box position.
    I do not think that this could cause such mismatch of the signals.

    M.
     
  6. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Any others indications ?
     
  7. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,870
    Does it calibrate properly? Regardless of what the manual says the sequence is supposed to be, if it calibrates properly then that's all that matters.
     
  8. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Hi Doug, no fail the calibration every time ! try to suppose to use your STV with non reversed cable... STV can't perform axis calibration because sequence is not respected.
     
  9. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Hi I'm back after holiday to try to understand what's going on on my STV.
    Relay (1-2-3-4) pin out of the RJ 11 cable do not match the standard "ST-4" configuration sequence.

    except for the first
    Relay 1 RA+ (and this is the only one correct)
    Relay 2 RA-
    Relay 3 Dec+
    Relay 4 Dec-

    other three are wrong as you can see above; they should be
    Relay 1 RA+
    Relay 2 Dec+
    Relay 3 Dec-
    Relay 4 RA-
    in other words declination are in the middle meanwhile RA are siders.

    Of course this cause a big problem when ST move Relay 2 (RA-) the mount move unexpectedly the Dec+ and STV give "error star" a correct answer.

    My question toward SBIG engineers is how can assign the correct Relay-RJ pin instead go with my abnormal solution: make a personal custom cable ?

    Best Regards
    Massimo

    P.S. Bought New baby Sti is amazing !!!!
     
  10. Tim Puckett

    Tim Puckett Guest

  11. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    Hi Tim,
    Thank you for your answer, It's a pleasure to speak with you ! even in Italy you are well known to astronomical community.
    Let me congratulate for your new job position, I believe you'll finally give a personal touch to SBIG-MAXIM solutions.

    Page 44 of STV manual give the exact information as my message does up above on how the telephone connector should be connected, the last part is not pertinent as far as I do not use Relay Adapter box.

    I missed something ?

    Massimo Uberti
     
  12. Tim Puckett

    Tim Puckett Guest

    Dear Massimo,

    Thank you for your kind message. I actually did not read the first reply :) My apologies.
    I think your best solution is to make a custom cable.

    Best wishes
    Tim
     
  13. Massimo Uberti

    Massimo Uberti Standard User

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    22
    OK I solve the problem, STV come to live and respond correctly to calibration and guide. I really missed what can be happened inside to constrain me mixup the cable in that way !

    Regards
    Massimo
     

Share This Page