Tapatalk support

Discussion in 'Support Forum and Web Site Issues' started by Tony King, Oct 11, 2014.

  1. Tony King

    Tony King Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Hi

    Just wondering if it would be possible to allow this forum to be configured to be used with Tapatalk app on Android and ios?

    I am unsure how much work would be involved (not much at all I think), but I am sure I and many others would appreciate it.

    Regards

    Tony
     
  2. AlanP

    AlanP Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    +1 for Tapatalk support. I find it very useful to quickly see new posts and to be alerted when a particular thread gets updated.
     
  3. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    DC-3 Dreams, SP, Mesa, Arizona +1 480 396 9700
    Add one for me as well. I use Tapatalk extensively.

    Note that, even though there are no longer "add-free" versions of the Tapatalk apps (iOS / Android) the will not show ads unless the particular forum owner activates the "monetization" features for his forum. Tapatalk does not sell ad space directly.
     
  4. Thorsten Lockert

    Thorsten Lockert Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Mayhill, NM
    I'd love for Tapatalk support to be enabled as well...

    Thorsten
     
  5. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    DC-3 Dreams, SP, Mesa, Arizona +1 480 396 9700
    It is available for this Xenforo forum system. I sent them a link. Usually its really easy to install at the back end (at least it was for our vBulletin system).
     
  6. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7,315
    Installation was all going very well, until I hit some kind of "out of memory" error. Kinda busy at the moment so I will look into it later.
     
    Tony King likes this.
  7. Bob Denny

    Bob Denny Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    DC-3 Dreams, SP, Mesa, Arizona +1 480 396 9700
    All we can ask!! Thanks.
     
  8. Tony King

    Tony King Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks very much Doug! :)
     
  9. Tony King

    Tony King Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks so much for getting Tapatalk up and running, great work! :)
     
  10. GlennS

    GlennS Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Danville, CA and Scottsdale, AZ
    How do I add this forum to tapatalk? I can't find anything for cyanogen, diffraction limited, maxim, or SBIG...
     
  11. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7,315
    When I attempt to add tapatalk, I get an error message about excessive memory allocation. Tried a settings change that someone suggested, but no luck. So as far as I know, it doesn't work.
     
  12. GlennS

    GlennS Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Danville, CA and Scottsdale, AZ
    I guess I misunderstood the previous note about it being up and running.
    When it does work, how do I find it?
     
  13. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7,315
    AFAIK it is not running. Can't speak for Tony.
     
  14. Tony King

    Tony King Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    I followed a link via my phone to the forum via a browser, and then it asked if I want to open the link via Tapatalk. I did, and then saved the forum.
     
  15. GlennS

    GlennS Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Danville, CA and Scottsdale, AZ
    What link from your phone? I go to my browser and try to link to this forum, and I get nothing from taps talk. I go to tapatalk and put in diffraction limited.com, and it can't be found.
     
  16. Tony King

    Tony King Standard User

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    I went to the forum on my phone using the browser, and then I was prompted to either open via the Tapatalk app, or Continue using the browser. I opened the link with Tapatalk, and that was it. HTH
     
  17. GlennS

    GlennS Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    106
    Location:
    Danville, CA and Scottsdale, AZ
    I try that and nothing opens, just something saying my feed is empty, and the forum is not in my list.
    I guess I'll wait until Doug has the cycles to get to it again.
     
  18. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7,315
    Adam figured it out... Tapatalk should be working now.
     
  19. Thorsten Lockert

    Thorsten Lockert Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Location:
    Mayhill, NM
    Seems to work for me. Thanks!
     
  20. Larry Phillips

    Larry Phillips Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    For those of us not familiar with tapatalk, what is it and what can it do beyond what we have been doing? Is this an app to allow smart phones and ipad devices to converse directly to this forum?

    Larry
     

Share This Page