Web Browser

Discussion in 'STX and STXL' started by Jorgen Andersson, Mar 18, 2020.

  1. Jorgen Andersson

    Jorgen Andersson Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    Dear Sir/Madame
    I have problem to access the web server of my STXL camera. After cammera connection I write 192.168.0.100 in the web browser but I can not access the web server. I run the camera on a PC with W10. Any further tips?
    Regards
     
  2. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,892
  3. Jorgen Andersson

    Jorgen Andersson Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi Doug
    I have follow the instruction but I got a message that the camera can not be detected.
     
  4. Jorgen Andersson

    Jorgen Andersson Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    Hi Doug,
    Here comes the screen shoots


    upload_2020-3-19_17-32-46.png


    upload_2020-3-19_17-33-10.png

    upload_2020-3-19_17-33-29.png
     
  5. Jorgen Andersson

    Jorgen Andersson Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    When I connect the Etrnet cable from my PC to the camera Ethernet port the green and yellow LEDs begin to flash. After a while the yellow go out and the green LED is green steady. I use a CAT 5 patch cable between the PC and camera. Any ideas?
     
  6. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,892
    Probably set to the wrong address. It might have been reprogrammed to a different address, or it could be configured for DHCP, which means your router tells it what address to use.

    Try using a port scanner program to find the camera's address. Scan the 192.168.xxx.xxx addresses first.

    One free online tool is https://www.advanced-port-scanner.com/
     
  7. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,493
    Hi Jorgen - two suggestions:
    From a command prompt, try pinging the camera - that may give you an indication.
    e.g. ping 192.168.0.100

    What happens if you set the address in Graphics/Comm Setup to 0.0.0.0and hit Detect ?

    Also, have you set the network settings on your computer to a static IP address?
     
  8. Jorgen Andersson

    Jorgen Andersson Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    Here comes the result from pinging 192.168.0.100

    upload_2020-3-20_17-15-49.png

    Here comes the result from autodetect with IP set to 0.0.0.0

    upload_2020-3-20_17-18-16.png

    Here is my network setting. So yes, DHCP is enable.

    upload_2020-3-20_17-20-7.png

    The setting is "Obtain an IP address automatically"
    upload_2020-3-20_19-10-43.png

    I download the port scanner software and here is the result after the scan. During the scan the yellow LED on SBIG camera was flashing. The green LED was on steady light. After scanning the yellow LED goes out.

    upload_2020-3-20_19-40-7.png
     
  9. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,493
    This is a fundamental problem, not a camera problem.
    Your computer's ethernet IPv4 network is not getting an address, and it won't be on the same subnet at the camera.
    It is using a 192.168.1.xxxx subnet
    The computer should be on 192.168.0.xxx subnet, which is where the camera is.

    To fix:

    You need to set things up like the following:
    Disconnect the computer from the LAN that you have.
    1. turn off the computer's WiFi if you have it on.
    2. unplug the camera network cable and your PC's wired ethernet cable. Make sure neither of these two devices on on your network.

    3. Set a static IP address for the wired ethernet IPV4 configuration.
    For example, set your PC as follows:

    (x) Use the following IP Address:
    IP Address: 192.168.0.1
    Subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
    Default gateway: 192.168.0.1

    4. Use a hardwired ethernet patch cable from the PC to the camera.
    The Green link light should come on.
    If this fails, then you may need to either get a "crossover cable" or a network switch between the camera and PC, that is NOT connected to the rest of your network.

    5. If you try the port scanner again, you will see the address of your PC will be 192.168.0.1, not 169.x.x.x as shown in your last screenshot.

    6. Now you can proceed with configuring the camera. It should connect. The yellow LED will flash when it gets data.

    7. After you are done, you need to set the IP address of the camera and network submask etc to be on the 192.168.1.xxx subnet and 255.255.255.0. DHCP should work, or static IP. Just don't reuse an existing IP address if you manually assign it.
    I usually recommend static IPs or DHCP reservation in your router/DNS server, so that the camera gets the same IP address every time.

    Good luck, let us know how you make out.
     
  10. Jorgen Andersson

    Jorgen Andersson Standard User

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2015
    Messages:
    12
    Location:
    Sweden
    Thanks Colin for the support. I will try it out in the weekend.
     

Share This Page