STF-8300 change in bias level

Discussion in 'STF Series CCD Cameras' started by Richard Gray, Nov 29, 2014.

1. Richard Gray

Richard Gray Standard User

Hi,
    I have an STF-8300 that I have been using in a robotic telescope for about 3 months, although I purchased it about two years ago. The bias (offset) level suddenly changed last week from about 800 to 28000. This apparently happened spontaneously -- I did not change the drivers or fiddle with any settings, but one night it was at 800, the next night, and all successive nights since then the bias or offset level has been at 28000. This is messing up my data and so I need to get a fix for this ASAP. I expect some electronic problem and that I will have to send it in for servicing, but is there a software solution? I see in CCDops that this camera has a fixed bias level, and so presumably I cannot reset it to 800. Apart from that change in bias level there is no change in the functioning of the camera.

Richard Gray

2. Doug

Doug Staff Member

(Bill sorted this one out. Camera needed some internal settings reset.)

3. Larry Groom

Larry Groom Cyanogen Customer

What settings and how is it done?

Larry

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

4. Jan Soldan

Jan Soldan Cyanogen Customer

Larry,
    please wait, here is one software solution if your hardware is all right. I have to consult it with Doug first.
    We will come back to you asap.
    Jan

5. Jan Soldan

Jan Soldan Cyanogen Customer

Larry,
    you can easily set the bias value of your STF-8300 camera using CCDOPS v 5.57, build 1, provided your camera is in a good shape.
    I checked the CCDOPS and found, I had already implemented this feature there, so please follow the next few steps and try it.
    Attached is also screenshot of my STF-8300 bias value inside the USB Offset dialog, which does the bias measurement and saves
    it to camera's EEPROM on your request.

1) Run CCDOps v 5.57, b1 or upload/install it from sbig web page.