Camera Error Code

Discussion in 'Aluma Series' started by Paulo Poppe, Nov 11, 2019.

  1. Adam Robichaud

    Adam Robichaud Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Hi Paulo,

    I should have mentioned that I need the camera plugged in in order to do any work. Whenever you get this, please ensure the camera is plugged in and detected by MaxIm DL. I'll log back in as soon as it's ready.

    Cheers,
    -Adam
     
  2. Paulo Poppe

    Paulo Poppe Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    State University of Feira de Santana
    Hi Adam,

    I´m back
     
  3. Paulo Poppe

    Paulo Poppe Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    State University of Feira de Santana
    Ok, CCD is on.
    paulo
     
  4. Adam Robichaud

    Adam Robichaud Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Ottawa
    So I'm logged into your PC, and I'm not able to reproduce the error. Can you walk me through the steps you've taken that produced the error?

    -A
     
  5. Paulo Poppe

    Paulo Poppe Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    State University of Feira de Santana
    Hi Adam,

    Please, put the links here later

    cheers
     
  6. Adam Robichaud

    Adam Robichaud Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Ok, so I touched base with Paulo today and ran some diagnostics:
    1) to the best of my knowledge, it looks like the guider is plugged into the camera, and is taking pictures. They're completely dark, which leads me to believe the guider is out of focus. I've given him the instructions on how to focus the guide camera here.
    2) The camera's FPGA was revision 12, so I upgraded him to revision 20.
    3) His WiFi firmware was revision 3, so I downloaded revision 4 but was unable to install it because he didn't have a 4GB microSD card on hand. I've pointed him to the WiFi update procedure here, and he's definitely welcome to reach out to us if he experiences any issues updating it in the future.
     
  7. Doug

    Doug Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6,862
    A good tip for getting the guide in rough focus - and figure out where it is relative to the main camera - is to target the moon. Nice and bright and hard to miss.
     
  8. Paulo Poppe

    Paulo Poppe Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    State University of Feira de Santana
    Bom dia,

    After the important tips (and the update done by Adam yesterday), thank you very much to all of you, I got this guider image.
    The observed star has a magnitude of ~2.8, but in the guider image it was too weak for calibration. Could it be some light
    obstruction problem on the guiding CCD? The field "Dual Chip Mode" is marked.
    Cheers
    Paulo Poppe
     

    Attached Files:

  9. Colin Haig

    Colin Haig Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3,455
    Bom Dia, Paolo,
    You probably already know this, but I'll share it as a reminder.
    Try moving the green slider.
    It will decrease the Maximum.
    Try for the edge of the histogram.
    paolo_stretch.png
    Many more stars will be visible to you.
     
  10. Paulo Poppe

    Paulo Poppe Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    State University of Feira de Santana
    Hi Colin,

    Yes, I had looked at this feature, but for some reason Aluma was not in the CCD setup.
    This has been resolved and I can already see the stars. It is working, but the following
    error message appears at the end of the exposure:

    Camera 2 Information
    Error in plugin callback (519) - Could not set FITS key 'EGAIN'
    Error guide camera plugin

    In setup, it appears the following value for eGain (e-/ADU): -1. # R
    For the main CCD: 0.24.

    Cheers
    Paulo Poppe
     
  11. Adam Robichaud

    Adam Robichaud Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2014
    Messages:
    775
    Location:
    Ottawa
    Don't worry about that error—it's a holdover bug from the early days, and we've got it on the list of things to fix. It shouldn't affect your image acquisition at all.
     
  12. Paulo Poppe

    Paulo Poppe Cyanogen Customer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    State University of Feira de Santana
    Hi Adam,

    Ok, thank you so much for your help
    paulo
     

Share This Page