CCDops and STi calibration problem

Discussion in 'Legacy Models - Community Support' started by Wilfrid Ouellet, May 6, 2015.

1. Wilfrid Ouellet

Wilfrid Ouellet Standard User

I have a STi mounted on Orion ST80CFT with 2in diagonal on G11 Losmandy with Gemini 2. Main telescope is VRC10 Mallincam. I am new to astronomy but my friend working with me has more then 25 years experience, using the same guidance setup (except he has a Titan mount) and we can not find the problem.

When we try to calibrate, CCDops deactivate Y+ and Y- relays every time. We have tried new cables, another STi camera, another computer, Windows XP, Windows 7, worm gears adjustments .Parameters in Gemini 2 are the same on both mounts. My graph result is a straight line instead of a X and I have zeros on Y- and Y+.
    Calibration.jpg

What else could we do? Is it software or hardware issue?

2. Tim Puckett

Tim Puckett Guest

Wilfrid,

Are you sure the DEC motor is actually working? is the Dec Motor to Worm Coupling tight?
    Doug might have a solution but I am thinking mechanical.

You can always call me if you need help to debug it by phone or team viewer.

Regards
    Tim

3. Wilfrid Ouellet

The DEC motor is working properly when use with the Gemini, I have not check if it is working when calibration is in action with CCDops.
    The other thing could be the R.A. imbalance propose by Losmandy, my mount is perfectly balance so I should maybe unbalance as propose. We also think that the R.A. movement is not as smooth as the DEC movement when clutches are release. I want to lubricate the R.A. shaft so it move absolutly free without any restriction. It could be as simple as this but I will wait for others suggestions ... if any.

Tks Tim.

4. Doug

Doug Staff Member

Most likely suspect is the tracking interface cable. I know you say you replaced it, but it really is the obvious candidate. So please double-check it.