east/west switch not working on ALL SKY-340 camera

Discussion in 'General' started by Domenico Iacovone, Nov 20, 2014.

  1. Domenico Iacovone

    Domenico Iacovone Standard User

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Dear All,

    I operate an AllSky-340C Camera and I'm experiencing some problems during camera operations.
    east/west hardware switch (on the bottom side of the camera) doesn't work properly.
    Could you please suggest any solution on this issue?

    Best regards,

    e-Geos team
     
  2. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,707
    Can you describe what happens...odd behaviour, or it does not function at all?
     
  3. Domenico Iacovone

    Domenico Iacovone Standard User

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Yes, it does not function at all.
     
  4. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,707
    Have you reviewed the "Guide Port" section in the Users Guide, "Appendix B: Connectors", on page 35?

    Is it setup properly?:

    In order for the East/West toggle switch to function properly with GEM mounts, the SG-4 assumes that +X and –X moves correspond to RA.
     
  5. Domenico Iacovone

    Domenico Iacovone Standard User

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Thank you Tim, my question is why we don't any image changes switching the east/west button?
    I suppose that toggling the east7west button i expect an image flipping around the north/south axis.
    Is it correct?
    Thank you in advance.

    iaco
     
  6. Tim

    Tim Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    1,707
    The east/west toggle switch is referring to the SG-4 autoguider inside the AllSky unit only....you do not use it when using the SG-4 as an AllSky camera unit, as it is stationary. The switch is intended for use when used as an auto-guider when pier-flip occurs.

    The AllSky camera is used in a stationary position and therefore the guide port of the internal SG-4 is not generally used for AllSky monitoring.
     

Share This Page